Growth of Catholicism Under Bishops

With the establishment of the Diocese of Harrisburg in 1868 Catholicism continued to grow and prosper under the leadership of the bishops named to this See.

Most Rev. Joseph P. McFadden Tenth Bishop 2010-2013
Most Rev. Kevin C. Rhoades Ninth Bishop 2004-2010
Most Rev. Nicholas C. Dattilo  Eighth Bishop 1990-2004
Most Rev. William H. Keeler Seventh Bishop 1983-1989
Most Rev. Joseph T. Daley  Sixth Bishop 1971-1983
Most Rev. George L. Leech  Fifth Bishop 1935-1971
Most Rev. Philip R. McDevitt Fourth Bishop 1916-1935
Right Rev. John W. Shanahan Third Bishop 1899-1916
Right Rev. Thomas McGovern Second Bishop 1888-1898
Right Rev. Jeremiah F. Shanahan First Bishop 1868-1886
Print Friendly