The Office for Divine Worship

The Office for Divine Worship assists the Diocesan Bishop in carrying out his function as promoter and guardian of the liturgical life of the Diocese.

This office assists the people of the Diocese in liturgical formation by deepening their understanding of the Sacred Liturgy and helping them to implement the vision of the Church’s Liturgical Law and Documents. The Office for Divine Worship provides leadership and direction for liturgical celebrations, prayer, music, art and environment, and the RCIA.

Roman Missal, Third Edition

On the First Sunday of Advent, November 27, 2011, the entire English-speaking Church began the use of the revised translation of all of the prayers and acclamations of the Mass.

As a response to the Second Vatican Council, the Diocese of Harrisburg has established the Commission on the Sacred Liturgy, composed of competent authorities in “liturgical science, sacred music, art, and pastoral practice” (Sacrosanctum Concilium, #44). The Commission on the Sacred Liturgy assists the Bishop in promoting the liturgical apostolate through the liturgical formation of the laity and the training of those who are called to liturgical service within the Diocese.

The Commission on the Sacred Liturgy for the Diocese of Harrisburg is chaired by the Diocesan Director of the Office for Divine Worship and membership is composed of priests, deacons, and liturgical ministers representing the fifteen counties of the Diocese of Harrisburg. Each, having been nominated by their pastor, is commissioned by the Bishop to a three-year term.


Very Reverend Joshua R. Brommer

Director, Chairman of the Diocesan Commission on the Sacred Liturgy

Office: 717-657-4804 x352

Vanessa Valovage

Assistant to the Director for the Office for Divine Worship

Office: 717-657-4804 x352